CoJMC Senior Receives 2011 Cather Circle Collegian of the Year Award

Jessica R. Simpson, a University of Nebraska-Lincoln senior from Elkhorn, Neb., is the recipient of the 2011 Cather Circle Collegian of the Year award.

The award was announced at the spring meeting of Cather Circle, March 10 in Lincoln, and will be presented May 5 at the All-University Celebration and Salute to Alumni Achievement at the Nebraska Champions Club.

Simpson is a three-year member of Cather Circle and a 2009 and 2010 recipient of a Cather Circle Internship Scholarship that she used to intern with the College of Journalism and Mass Communications. She has also interned at Leadership Resources and Omaha's River City Rodeo and Stock Show. She has served as president and director of mentoring of the UNL chapter of PRSSA and public relations liaison of the "Cotton. From Blue to Green." campaign launched by PRSSA. She was inducted into the journalism honor society Kappa Tau Alpha in April 2009, and she is also a member of Kappa Kappa Gamma sorority. Simpson will graduate in May 2011 with a bachelor of journalism in advertising and public relations.

The award, established in 2005, is bestowed annually on an outstanding student who has shown exceptional dedication to Cather Circle. Simpson will receive a certificate and a Michael Forsberg photograph titled "Cather Country" framed together.

Jessica R. Simpson
Jessica R. Simpson

Previous winners

  • 2010 - Brett Lahm
  • 2009 - Michelle Lee
  • 2008 - Sarah Haskell
  • 2007 - Laine Norton
  • 2006 - Cynthia Gottschalck
  • 2005 - Kristen Otterson