Broadcast Students Place In Hearst National Competition

Lincoln, Neb., Jan. 15, 2010 -- The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has awarded Hearst Journalism Awards in the radio category to two University of Nebraska-Lincoln broadcast journalism seniors. Brandi Kruse of Glyndon, Minn., earned sixth place and Kelli Sajevic of Liberty, Mo., earned 10th place.  
Both students receive $500 awards with matching grants to the UNL College of Journalism and Mass Communications. Winners were selected from among 35 radio entries submitted. UNL is ranked seventh nationally in the radio and broadcast competitions.  

 Barney McCoy, associate professor of broadcasting, said: "It's wonderful to see our students place among America's top young broadcast journalists. Brandi and Kelli each worked hard on their reports. It is gratifying to see their efforts recognized by the Hearst Journalism Awards judges."
Founded in 1948 by its namesake, the William Randolph Hearst Foundation awards more than $550,000 a year in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. The 2009-10 broadcast news competitions are held in 110 member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.

Charlyne Berens, UNL's interim journalism dean, said, "We are proud of these students and are delighted to see their good work recognized in this national competition."

The judges, all professionals in radio and television, are: Fred Young, former senior vice president of news, Hearst-Argyle Television, Yardley, Pa; Barbara Cochran, president emeritus, RTNDA, Washington, D.C.; and Ursula Reutin, news director, News Talk 97.3 KIRO Radio, Seattle.

Barney McCoy, Assoc. Professor, Broadcasting, (402) 472-3047, ;
Marilyn Hahn, Communications Specialist, Journalism and Mass Communications, (402) 472-0876