Advertising/PR students take home 19 ADDY® Awards

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln took home five Gold and 14 Silver ADDYs® at the ADDY® Awards held in Omaha February 4.

The College of  Journalism and Mass Communications dominated in the animation category; won in interactive website, illustration, mixed media campaign, logo design, magazine campaign, poster, poster campaign and brochure; and garnered a Special Judges Citation.

Students' winning entries will be forwarded to the district competition April 19 to 20 in Kansas City, Mo., said Amy Struthers, associate professor of advertising and public relations.

Awards are as follows:



  • Brochure

    “Defend Against Diabetes Plans Book”
    Emma Anderson, Omaha; Katie Briggs, Scottsbluff; Janna Dravitzki, Stromsburg; Jocelyn Limbach, Crawford; Maddie Martin, Wahoo; Samantha Rendon, Tyler, Texas; and Kevin Shanahan, Lincoln.
  • Digitally Enhanced Illustration

    “Sri Lanka”
    Landon Stahmer, designer, Omaha.
  • Illustration

    “YoYo Your World-Eiffel”
    Toan Chu, Lincoln
  • YoYo Your World-Dog”
    Toan Chu, Lincoln
  • “YoYo Your World-Earth”
    Toan Chu, Lincoln
  • Interactive website

    “Dennis Bukowski Portfolio Website”
    Web designer, Omaha
  • Logo

    “Nebraska Dairy”
    Jacht Club
    Tyler Benes, account planner, Omaha; Tara Grieser, creative director, Lincoln; and Danny Scheyer, account executive/creative director, Lincoln
  • “Sri Lanka”
    Landon Stahmer, designer, Omaha
  • Mixed Media Campaign

    “Ready for Change”
    2011 NSAC team
    Joshua Anstey, co-creative director, Cedar Bluffs; Zach Boch, co-creative director, Omaha; Allison Busch, co-account supervisor, Fort Calhoun; Dennis Bukowski, designer, Omaha; John Erlandson, copywriter, Lincoln; Christina Fraser, designer, Lincoln; Nick Goodwin, digital designer, Scottsbluff; Griffin Jelinek, co-account supervisor, Grand Island; Alex McAreavey, designer, Sidney; Breanna Stewart, copywriter, Omaha; Mike Taylor, copywriter, Lake Elmo, Minn.; and Molly Wheeler, designer, Lincoln;
  • “You’re @CoJMC”
    Tim Behmer, creative, Dallas, Texas; Tara Behrens, media, Lincoln; Brandi Burkett, PR, Lincoln; Jill Grobek, creative, Millard; Brooke Jansen, media, Lincoln; Chi Kalu, creative and PR, Nigeria; Brandon Kusek, creative, Lincoln; Christa Masters, creative, Lincoln; Ashlee Muller, account executive; Kay Norgard, creative, Wisner; Melanie Severin, creative, Martell; and Blake Thelen, account executive, Papillion.
  • Poster

    “Ad Club posters”
    Matthew Anderson, Lincoln; and Dennis Bukowski, logo designer, Omaha
  • “Kleenex poster”
    Landon Stahmer, designer, Omaha
  • Poster Campaign

    “Drink Like A Fish”
    Derek Maze, creative/designer/copywriter, Falls City


  • Poster Campaign

    “Bathtub Dogs”
    Landon Stahmer, designer/photographer, Omaha


The American Advertising Federation of Lincoln ADDY® Awards Competition is the first of a three-tiered national competition conducted annually by the American Advertising Federation.

The ADDYs® are the advertising industry's largest and most representative competition, attracting more than 50,000 entries every year in local competitions that recognize and reward creative excellence in advertising. AAF Lincoln and AAF Omaha sponsored the 2011-2012 Nebraska ADDYs Awards Competition.