Two CoJMC students place in College Photographer of the Year competition


Congratulations to Teresa Prince for second place in the sports feature category in the 62nd College Photographer of the Year competition. View her winning photo here.

Brian Lehmann, a spring 2007 graduate from our college, placed second in the portrait category. View his winning photo here.

For the 62nd College Photographer of the Year competition judges spent six days judging the 10,645 still images and 122 multimedia projects entered by 461 student photographers from 88 colleges and universities in 10 different countries. Winners are invited to receive their awards during the combined POYi/CPOY Awards Presentation and Education Days on April 17 and 18 in Washington, D.C.

College Photographers of the Year have gone on to become outstanding professional photographers and leaders in the field of photojournalism - the list of alumni is long and prestigious.

Cliff and Vi Edom founded the College Photographer of the Year Competition in 1945. The University of Missouri administers the contest with support from its co-sponsor, Nikon Inc., whose generosity allows CPOY to offer free entry to college students worldwide.

The National Press Photographers Foundation administers the Colonel William J. Lookadoo and the Milton Freier Memorial Awards in conjunction with the contest. In 2005, National Geographic Magazine returned as a contributing sponsor and offers an internship to the Gold winner in the Portfolio category. Winners in individual categories of the contest are awarded equipment and additional educational opportunities provided by Nikon Inc., Poynter Institute and the Missouri Photo Workshop.

For more information about the competition and to see the winning images from all the students, go to: