Structures

Structural research at NTC explores how to design, build and maintain the supporting structures that are integral to transportation in a way that minimizes risk and costs. A particular focus is bridges, which are a vital part of transportation infrastructure, but are especially vulnerable to damage from wear and tear and phenomena such as natural disasters. NTC researchers have developed efficient, reliable risk analysis procedures for assessing highway and railway bridges. Standards for structural safety, risk analysis, and designs developed by NTC faculty have been adopted both locally and internationally.

NTC researchers are also renowned for their work with design and successful implementation of innovative steel bridge elements, including the patented NU I-Girder system. The Structural Laboratory at UNL facilitates the development of safer, more stable, and more cost effective structural components and materials, including advanced steel-reinforced and self-consolidating concretes.


Researchers
Faller, Ronald rfaller1@unl.edu 402-472-6864
Tuan, Chris ctuan1@unl.edu 402-554-3867
Turner, Joseph jturner3@unl.edu 402-472-8856
Steelman, Joshua joshua.steelman@unl.edu 402-472-1972
Linzell, Daniel dlinzell@unl.edu 402-472-8036
Wittich, Christine cwittich@unl.edu 402-472-1915
Wood, Richard rwood@unl.edu 402-472-1916