» Xiaohui received a travel award to attend APS-2014 March Meeting in Denver, CO (Jan. 2014).

» News and Views article “Ferroelectric tunnel junctions: Beyond the barrier” was published in Nature Materials (May 2013).

» SRC's Nanoelectronics Research Initiative and NIST awarded a UNL team a five-year contract to lead a new Center for NanoFerroic Devices (April 2013).

» Our prediction of a magneto-electrically driven giant electroresistance effect is confirmed experimentally, as reported in Nature Materials and featured in the UNL press release (February 2013).

» Collaborative research work on ferroelectricity of oxide superlattices is published in Nature Communications and featured by NSF News From the Field (October 2012).

» Book “Multifunctional Oxide Heterostructures” is published by the Oxford University Press. (September 2012).

» Pavel Lukashev’s paper “Ferroelectric control of magnetocrystalline anisotropy of the Fe/BaTiO3 (001) interface” was featured by the editors of Journal of Physics (June 2012).

» News and Views article “Spintronics: Electric Toggling of Magnets” appeared in Nature Materials (January 2012).

» Xiaohui Liu wins a travel award to participate in the upcoming 2012 PASI Workshop on Computational Material Science for Energy Generation and Conversion to be held in Santiago, Chile (Nov. 2011).

» The "Handbook of Spin Transport and Magnetism" is published by Taylor & Francis. The book is written by acknowledged leaders in the field including the Nobel Prize Laureate Albert Fert (Aug. 2011).

» Prediction of electrically controlled spin-valve effect made the front web page of Physical Review Letters with featured synopsis (Apr. 2011).

» Collaborative research on oxide 2DEGs was published in Science and Proceedings of National Academy of Sciences and featured at University of Nebraska News Releases and Lincoln Journal Star. Yong Wang, Karolina Janicka, and Manish Niranjan were involved in this research (Feb. 2011).

» Nebraska EPSCoR awarded a $3.3 million joint grant to create cyberinfrastructure and explore nanomaterials for energy efficiency.

» Manish Niranjan assumed an Assistant Professor position at the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhopal, India (June 2010).

» J. D. Burton received the 2010 Outstanding Postdoctoral Award by the University of Nebraska Office of Postdoctoral Studies honoring his exceptional comprehensive achievement in research, teaching, mentoring, innovation, and service.

» Karolina Janicka received Maude Hammond Fling Graduate Fellowship for her outstanding academic performance.

» Invited article "Magnetoelectric Interfaces: Emerging Perspectives for Novel Functionalities" featured at AZoM.com under a section “Materials Thought Leaders Series” (Feb. 2010).

» Image from article "Quantum nature of two-dimensional electron gas confinement at LaAlO3/SrTiO3 interfaces", Physical Review Letter 102, 106803 (2009) by Karolina Janicka, Julian Velev, and Evgeny Tsymbal featured on PRL's cover page.

» Julian Velev assumed an Associate Professor position in the Department of Physics at the University of Puerto Rico-Río Piedras (July 2008).

» Evgeny Tsymbal elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society (Oct. 2008) for his "significant contributions to the understanding of spin-dependent transport in magnetic nanostructures" and a Fellow of the UK Institute of Physics (March 2008).

» J. D. Burton received Presidential Fellowship, University of Nebraska 2007-2008.

» Karolina Janicka received Donald F. and Mildred Topp Othmer Graduate Fellowship 2007-2008.

» J. D. Burton received Best Student Poster Award at the 54th Midwest Solid State Conference (Oct. 2007) for his poster "The Origins of Tunneling Anisotropic Magnetoresistance in Nanoscale Ferromagnetic Metal Break Junctions"

» Chun-Gang Duan left our group and is now Zi Jiang Professor and Deputy Director at the Key Laboratory of Polar Materials and Devices, East China Normal University, Shanghai (June 2007).

» Evgeny Tsymbal received an Outstanding Research and Creative Activity Award from College of Arts and Sciences (May 2007).

» Nebraska MRSEC received NRI/NSF Supplement Grant: Multiferroic Interfaces: New Paradigms for Functional Switching (April 2007).

» A. Sokolov, C. Zhang, E. Y. Tsymbal, J. Redepenning, and B. Doudin’s Nature Nanotechnology paper “Quantized magnetoresistance in atomic-size contacts” was featured in Physics World, Materials Today, the Economist, by the Institute of Physics PhysicsWeb, the American Physical Society, and the American Institute of Physics (Feb. 2007).

» The article "Tunneling across a Ferroelectric" by Evgeny Tsymbal and Hermann Kohlstedt was published in Science 313, 181-183 (2006).

» J. D. Burton received the University of Nebraska College of Arts & Sciences Outstanding Graduate Research Assistant Award, Graduate Student Research Competition Prize at the University of Nebraska Research Fair (2006), and a Best Poster Award at 53rd Midwest Solid State Conference, Kansas City 2006.

» Kirill Belashchenko assumed an Assistant Professor position in the Department of Physics at the University Nebraska - Lincoln (Aug. 2005).

nano letter 2015


Science 2015


PRL cover


Science 313, 181 (2006)