NEWS RELEASE From: UNL Department of Mathematics

Mathematics students honored at recognition dinner

More than 100 undergraduates and 70 graduate students in the University of Nebraska-Lincoln's Department of Mathematics were honored Tuesday, April 27, at the 11th Annual Mathematics Recognition Dinner in the Nebraska Union to celebrate these students' and faculty members' achievements over the past year. Presenters were undergraduate adviser Gordon Woodward, graduate adviser Judy Walker and department chair John Meakin.

The recipients of two prestigious awards, one for an undergraduate student and the other for a faculty member, were revealed at the banquet. William (Billy) Sanders was awarded the Chair's Prize Award, which recognizes an outstanding undergraduate student and was created to honor Jim Lewis, Aaron Douglas Professor of Mathematics, for his service as chair of the mathematics and statistics department from 1988 to 2003. Professor Mikil Foss, a College of Arts & Sciences Distinguished Teaching Award recipient in 2009, was selected by the mathematics graduate students as the winner of the Roger Wiegand Award for contributions to the graduate students.

Three graduate students, Anthony DeLegge, Deanna Dreher and Ines Henriques, will receive their Ph.D.s in mathematics in May 2010 and another four, Christopher Ahrendt, Nathan Axvig, Olgur Celikbas and Silvia Saccon, will graduate with Ph.D.s in mathematics in August 2010.

Dreher received a 2009 University of Nebraska Presidential Fellowship, which provides full support for the graduate student's last year of study. Only four students in the university system are awarded this fellowship.

"It was a great opportunity that allowed me to focus on finishing up my Ph.D.," Dreher said. "I was thrilled to receive this, and I wouldn't have survived the year without it."

Twenty-five students received master's degrees in August 2009 and another 10 will finish in May 2010. Forty undergraduates will have graduated between August 2009 and May 2010.

Undergraduate Eric Norrgard will graduate in May with Highest Distinction with a bachelor's of science in mathematics and physics. Other mathematics majors graduating with High Distinction are: Frank Moonyoung Lee, Charles Lucas, Patrick Olson, Joshua Reed, Sarah Scofield, Brian Stevens and Sanders.

Assistant Professor Christine Kelley was honored for winning the University's Edgerton junior faculty award this year, and Professor Judy Walker was named by the Mathematical Association of America as the Polya Lecturer for 2009-10 and 2010-11. Assistant Professor Stephen Hartke also was honored for receiving a College of Arts & Sciences Distinguished Teaching Award in 2010.

Faculty members recognized for years of service were: George Avalos (10 years), Cheryl Kane (20 years), Mohammad Rammaha (25 years), Brian Harbourne (25 years), Steve Dunbar (25 years) and John Meakin (40 years). Two retiring faculty and staff members honored were: Tom Shores, department faculty member since 1968, and Margaret Tyler, staff member with University Libraries since 1980 and the mathematics library since 1983.